(15th – 17th centuries). In the Medieval Ages the Dominicans were heads of Inquisition and prosecuted the heretics. In 1497 the Polish King Alexander Jagelon sponsored the building of Dominican Monastery and St. Trinity’s Church in Volodymyr. There are few documents preserved about the monastery. As we know, the monastery occupied a large land plot with pond, garden, watermill and several yards. The monastery was entitled to keep an in, to brew and to sell beer, mead, wine, gorilka. The church was destroyed by the fire in the 19th century. Former cells were used by courts in the 19th century while the ground floor was occupied by the city archive and museum. Border troops were located in the monastery in 1940s. Nowadays there is a local professional and technical school.
Leave a Reply